When is the best time to ask for letters of recommendation from professors?

In summary: if you have a strong relationship with the professor, ask for a letter of recommendation. if you don't have a strong relationship, you might have to be a little more bold.
CPL.Luke
I'm just starting out in my undergraduate education, and I'm wondering. When is it a good time to ask for letters of recommendation. should I ask any professor I get to know for a letter?

Physics news on Phys.org
You can, but they tend to be less valuable from people who know you less well. You have a while before you will be asking, so you can really grow some relationships first.

My tactic was as follows: one recommendation from someone who was well acquainted with my skills in research. This was most important, since this was my real job at the university as a grad student. My second was from someone I had worked with teaching labs. This would be my immediate work at the university, so I felt they would value knowing I could do this. Finally I chose a professor who had taught me to describe my experience in class as a student.

Worked for me. I'm sure there are lots of other ways to do it as well.

Yeah, I would say they should start coming in 3rd year.

Talk to your profs in 3rd year, and share your knowledge. Show them you know something. understand it and are passionate about it. That can get you letters of recommendation.

Also, through research too.

I rather have the former. There is nothing like a professor truly believing you can be a mathematician for the sake of it.

sorry for going off topic... but I don't want to start another similar thread.