Is Organic Chemistry too difficult for physics majors?

In summary: Without knowing what a molecule is made of, it is nearly impossible to design and synthesize a molecule that will have the desired properties. In summary, the author is considering taking an organic chemistry class during their final semester of college, but is scared because it is supposedly intense and difficult. They also mention that if they have done well in other classes, it should not be too difficult. However, they mention that if they do not do well, it will be a waste of time.
flying fish
Hello,

I am a physics undergrad...getting ready for my final semester this summer. I have to take a chemistry class (actually, anything above a first General Chemistry class). It just so happens that the ONLY such Chem class they offer (small school) during my final semester is Organic Chem 1.

(On that note, my school has two versions of Org Chem, one being the dumbed down "Industrial Org. Chem", for engineers interested in polymers and stuff. Then there is "Org Chem 1", which is the first full blown Organic Chem for Chem majors, and supposedly pretty intense. Only one of them is being offered during my last term, which is the harder one)

So my options are
1) Take Organic Chem 1 (Which I've been advised not to, but they already agreed to let me into if I want)
2) Take a Chem class out as a guest student.
3) Both 1 and 2 ("fail-safe"!)
4) Don't graduate. Who the hell cares about having a BS in physics anyway? I don't need a degree to sell T shirts on the beach...

I actually do want to take the class, but it does scare me.

So now that I'm done with my rant, is it a bad idea for physics majors to take hard core chemistry class? Any experiences or relevant stories?

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
If you don't feel like you are fluent in GenChem 101 trying Organic Chemistry can be traumatic.