Advancing My Physics Education for Quantum Gravity Research

In summary, the conversation is about a student asking for guidance on choosing a branch of physics to pursue for a career in teaching and research on Quantum Gravity and String theory. They discuss different branches of physics and the importance of taking various classes to find one's interest. The student also mentions their goal of doing a PhD in the United States and is advised to consider a university with a strong theoretical inclination. They also mention a string theorist, Peter Bouwknegt, who holds a joint position in the Physics and Maths departments at the Australian National University, and discuss the possibility of studying with him for a PhD. The conversation ends with a recommendation for the University of Melbourne's strong particle theory group and coursework.
SuperStringboy
I am an undergraduate student of phyiscs major. If i want to work on Quantum Gravity then do i need to continue MSc Physics? Or Others like High energy phyiscs or particle physics or Astro?

My aim is to be a teacher at a top University and Research on Quantum Gravity & String theory.

Can you guide me? I mean which brunch of physics should i choose, which one is bad for career,how should i advance etc.. just like that.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Also thinking about this `career path'.

Personally I majored in Physics/Pure Maths at The University of Sydney and am now doing theoretical particle physics Honours at the University of Melbourne. I'm hoping to do a PhD in the states at some stage.

I've been informed from a string theorist that some important areas of maths for particle physics are representation theory of Lie algebras and Algebraic topology. I've taken neither but if you get a chance it would be adviseable for QG.

Last edited:
jdstokes said: