Just a few questions relating to graphs

• Thread starter ianb
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Graphs
In summary, when looking at a current-voltage graph, the slope represents 1/R and the power is equal to the area under the line, which is the area of the rectangle formed by the current and voltage values. This differs from the area of the triangle, which would be calculated using P = IV.
ianb
I'm not following the format because this isn't really a homework question -- I'm just studying for my finals and encountered a few graphs in the electricity unit, and want a few things cleared up.

So in a current-voltage graph, the slope is 1/R, and power (according to my teacher) is the area under the line. I only have a problem with the latter claim-- say we have a point on a linear line whose coordinate is (20,4). Should P = IV = 20 x 4 = 80 rather than P = Area = 20 x 4 x 0.5 = 40?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, power should be area of the rectangle rather than area of the triangle.

Hello,

Thank you for your question. It's great to see that you are studying for your finals and taking the time to understand graphs in the electricity unit.

To start, let's clarify the meaning of slope and power in a current-voltage graph. The slope of a current-voltage graph is indeed equal to 1/R, where R is the resistance in the circuit. This is because Ohm's law states that V = IR, where V is voltage, I is current, and R is resistance. Therefore, the slope of the graph, which is the change in voltage over the change in current, is equal to R.