Will I require any physics degree to publish a paper?

In summary, a physics degree is not necessary to publish a paper in theoretical physics. It is possible to learn the basics on your own, but it will take years to accomplish. An adviser can help you through the process, and publishing a paper as a single author is not very likely.
xavier_r
Will I require any physics degree to publish a paper?

I am a computer Science student, but love theo. phy. till the core of my heart
Will I be able to publish papers without any physics degree, and just by studying at home?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

It is possible, of course, but there is very little benefit to it. Your papers are very unlikely to be selected for any journal with a hint of impact, and it's nearly impossible to truly know what's going on theoretical physics from the literature alone. With no degree and no university affiliation, you can study all you want, but you may as well be like digging a trench with a teaspoon.

will.c said:
and it's nearly impossible to truly know what's going on theoretical physics from the literature alone.

Why is that so? If I read journals, won't that'll be enough

Last edited:

If you can understand the journals well without the benefit of a physics undergrad curriculum, I don't see why not. But I highly doubt so. I think there was a case in 2003 of a totally unknown individual who worked as an insurance agent but never majored or minored in physics who published a paper and became famous for it. However, some people accused him of being a crank. I can't remember his name.

I couldn't understand a word of journals until my 3rd year of a UK physics degree (I believe equivalent to 4th year US university). Now (new PhD student) I can only understand journals related to an area I've studied in some depth. Theoretical physics is not one of my main areas and therefore it's still totally unfathomable in most cases.