What are the best books on point set topology for undergraduate students?

In summary: I think I might check out Steen and Seebach as well.In summary, the books recommended are Mendelson's "Introduction to Topology," Munkres' "Elements of Algebraic Topology," and Willard's "Topology."
R.P.F.
Hi! Can someone recommend some books on point set topology for undergraduates? I am going to use it this summer for preview and also during the fall because the instructor is not going to use a textbook. Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org
A very cheap way to go is Mendelson's "Introduction to Topology." I used it a lot last quarter to supplement another text. I am an undergrad and took undergrad topology, but we officially used a grad level book, which was to say the least...very dense. So the Mendelson book expanded on a lot of the topics we covered.

Im am sure there are better/more modern treatments of topology out there for undergrads (I believe Munkres is the standard, but I don't have it). But the Mendelson book is so cheap, you should get it anyway. If its not to your liking, then who cares since you never invested much on it.

Hi R.P.F.! :smile:

I can highly recommend Munkres! It's one of the best topology books out there. It's really made for somebody's first encounter with topology. It doesn't only explain things in a lot of details, but it also goes quite deep into the topology!

Another book that every serious topology student should have is "Counterexamples in topology" by Steen and Seebach. It's not a textbook and it's a bit older, but it contaisn all the quirky and weird counterexamples in topology. If you ever start wondering if there exists a separable compact space that is not connected? Check this book and find out! :smile:

My favorite topology book is "General topology" of Willard. But I wouldn't recommend it to beginning students. It might be a bit dense...