Build a Linear Motor? Advice for First Year PhD Student

In summary, a first year PhD student with a background in ME is working on a project that requires the use of a tubular linear motor. The device needs to fit within a specific space envelope and have certain specifications, including a peak force of ~50lbf, constant force of ~20lbf, and an acceleration of ~15-20G. The student is considering building the device from scratch or approaching an outside vendor for a custom-made one. However, linear motors are not necessarily advantageous for compressors and pumps and designing one from scratch may be difficult and costly. The student is also developing a miniature linear compressor for a small scale refrigeration system and believes a linear compressor would be more compact and have fewer maintenance issues.
h2oski1326
Background:

I am a first year PhD student and I just started graduate school this January. My background is in ME so this is a bit out of my realm.

My current project requires the use of a tubular linear motor, possibly similar to the one shown here:

http://www.copleycontrols.com/motion/technologies/motor/" [Broken]

I want to use a device like this (moving magnet only) to control a gas compression device. The trouble is I need to control the dimensions of the device as much as possible (i.e. it needs to fit within a specific space envelope). From what I can tell, this rules out all the off the shelf products I could find.

Specifications (approx):

The device needs to be capable of the following:

Peak Force: ~50lbf (222 N)
Const. Force: ~20lbf (89 N)
Accel.: ~15-20G

The device it will control (the piston) will have an OD of roughly 0.59 in (1.5 cm), and a stroke of about 0.39 in (1 cm). It would have an operating frequency of about 50Hz and be spring return (i.e. the motor alone does not have to handle keeping the magnet within operating space).

Question: