Proving High School Maths Theory: A Beginner's Journey

In summary: That is: 125+64-27 = 162, so [(162-5), (162+5)].I'll take your word for it, but I think the problem is supposed to be the sum of cubes of nonnegative integers. At least that's the way I took it. Is it Noo? In which case there is an exception.Yes, you're right. If the problem is about nonnegative integers, then there is a small exception :smile:Proving something like that would be extremely difficult. You'd better pin your hopes on finding a fairly easy counterexample. There is one. Start expressing small numbers as the sum of cubes and you should find it pretty quickly.I took your advise and have checked
Noo
I'm studying pure maths/numb theory for the first time (independantly, and from a shallow, brief-ish book with no given solutions, so i have no one else to ask :P ). I just started a day or two ago. The book leaves Induction till a little later, so this should be proved directly, or maybe by contradiction - and only with basic high-school maths.

Even to my novice eyes this problem seems very simple, not simple enough for me, yet, though.

[tex]\forall n \in Z, \exists a,b,...,h \in Z[/tex] such that [tex]n = a^{3}+b^{3}+. . .+h^{3}[/tex]

I must either prove the above is true, or prove that its negation is true.

I'm not sure where to start, and haven't been for 1 or 2 other problems (such as proving 'a^3 -a' is always divisible by 6). I have been thinking of something along the lines of;

Showing [tex]\sqrt[3]{a^{3}+b^{3}+c^{3}+d^{3}+e^{3}+f^{3}+g^{3}-n}[/tex] can't always equate to an integer. But that is random and useless. I'm noy even sure whether the original statement is true or not.

What should i be looking for in trying to prove these things? Or is it mainly that i am not familiar enough with properties of numbers yet? In any case, suggestions/hints/advice or even solutions will all help me in starting out.

Physics news on Phys.org