Jobs in Engineering Analysis hard to find.

In summary, the speaker is a mechanical engineer who is currently working in design at a semiconductor/data-storage process equipment company. However, they have discovered that they are better at analysis than design. They have been searching for jobs and have noticed that there are not many positions solely focused on analytical work. They suggest looking into failure analysis, six sigma/business process jobs, and positions involving CFD or FEA. However, they also mention that most companies prefer engineers who can do a variety of tasks, rather than just analytical work. The speaker's current team at their company is an exception, as they solely focus on CFD and alternative modeling methods for data center cooling solutions. They acknowledge that this may be a niche and not representative of the CFD
jasc15
I am a mechanical engineer currently working in design at a semiconductor/data-storage process equipment company. I've come to learn that I am better at analysis than i am at design. I like using and gathering data and developing specifications, whereas mechanical design requires a kind of artistic creativity that I am not very consistent with.

Now I've been looking at jobs for quite some time now, and notice that about half of what i come across are for project engineer/manager (snore), or mechanical designer (not mechanical engineer). Where are the analytical jobs? Are analytical engineers such a small elite group, that they are hand picked rather than interviewed? Is it not the sort of position for which to have a full time dedicated engineer? Is this an extreme example of the "it's who you know" principle?

Physics news on Phys.org
I think it's more likely that there are few jobs that do analytical work and nothing else. It's also likely that even for those positions, the company would prefer to hire someone who does analytical work and nothing else. Tasks change.