Could someone explain this to me please?

• Thread starter AdrianZ
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Explain
In summary, the conversation discusses a theorem about taking the tensor product of a given exact sequence and its proof. The first highlighted part in the proof requires showing that a certain function is well-defined, while the second part requires showing that the kernel of one function is a subset of the image of another. The theorem is not saying that tensor product is an exact functor, but rather a right-exact functor. This means that it preserves surjections, but not injections. To solve this problem, the concept of homology is introduced. It is also noted that tensor product is exact for objects called "flat".
AdrianZ
Well, first of all I'm not quite sure If I'm posting my question in the right section so forgive me if it's in the wrong section. I'm studying module-theory on my own and in the chapter I'm in the book is discussing tensor product of modules (actually I decided to read this book only because of this chapter xD), there's a theorem in the book that is about taking the tensor product of a given exact sequence (the book doesn't say it this way, but this is how I memorize the whole theorem because It's kinda like that). I've attached the theorem and its proof, the book that I'm reading is not in English so I was forced to translate everything into English, if there are points that are ambiguous tell me to clarify them.

I understand the whole proof, except two parts that I've highlighted them in red in the pdf.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• Theorem 5.3 - tensor product of modules.pdf
    830.9 KB · Views: 241
Physics news on Phys.org
OK. For the first part in read, you need to prove that [itex]\varphi_2[/itex] is well-defined.

So take [itex]\pi(\sum x_n\otimes y_n)=\pi(\sum x_n^\prime\otimes y_n^\prime)[/itex]. You must show that [itex]\phi_2[/itex] of this is equal. Notice that