Building blocks of the conduction and valence band

In summary, the conversation discusses the formation of conduction and valence bands in III-V compound semiconductors and raises the question of why the conduction band is often referred to as the s-orbit type of the group III element and the valence band as the p-orbit type of the group V element, despite both constituents being sp3 hybridized. The conversation also asks for recommendations for further reading on this topic.
BBQBarney
Hi folks,

I am new to PF. First I have to apologize for the following english -- it is not my native language.

I have problems in understanding the formation of the conduction and valence bands of solids:
For example in III-V compound semiconductors both constituents are sp3 hybridized. If one builds the solid piece by piece the single energetic levels split resulting in bands. My question is, why one says that the conduction band is (most) s-orbit type of the group III element and the valance band p-orbit type of the group V element, like the constituents were not hybridized.
Maybe there is a book or paper covering this topic?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
*push*

My question is, why one says that the conduction band is (most) s-orbit type of the group III element and the valance band p-orbit type of the group V element

sounds like a very good question to me. I would like to read more about that. any links?

BBQBarney said:
Hi folks,

I am new to PF. First I have to apologize for the following english -- it is not my native language.

I have problems in understanding the formation of the conduction and valence bands of solids: