Co-op vs Internship for ChemE: NASA or Space Program Feasibility?

In summary, the person is an entering freshman in chemical engineering and is considering doing a co-op program or summer internships. They are interested in working at NASA or another space program, but are unsure if it is feasible for a chemE major. They are also wondering how grad schools view co-ops vs internships and if they have to decide now. They mention restarting from first year engineering and are confident they will complete their school's year-long internship program. They will need six years to graduate, but are fine with it as it counts towards the work experience requirement to become a P.Engg in their country.
Null_
I'm going to be in chemical engineering and am debating between the two. I want to go to grad school (probably just Master's). If I did Co-op, I'd likely take 5 years to graduate, where as if I did summer internships I would take 4. (I'm an entering freshman). I REALLY want to get a co-op or internship at NASA or another space program, but I don't know how feasible that is being a chemE major. How hard would it be to gain a spot in one of these programs? Ideally Goddard MD as I have housing arrangements easily set up there. My school has a strong program, but we're not affiliated with many companies outside of our region (which happens to not have much space industry).

How do grad schools look at co-ops vs. internships? I got the impression that co-ops are mainly for those not pursuing further education, but then I'm still in the beginning stages of research.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you have to decide now? That would seem odd, since you're just starting. Most school co-ops or full year internships are done after third year I think.