Pyrrolidine: Achiral or chiral?

• Thread starter ochemstudent
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chiral
In summary, pyrrolidine is a chiral molecule with a chiral center at the nitrogen atom. Its symmetry around the nitrogen atom does not affect its chirality. It can be used to separate enantiomers, unlike an achiral molecule.
ochemstudent
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting to this website.

I'm just trying to study for organic chemistry, and I've been having a little trouble trying to grasp the concept of chiral/achiral.

The book talks about pyrrolidine,C4H9N, and it asks whether or not pyrrolidine could be used to isolate the racemic form of ibuprofen. I know that if it was achiral then it could not be used because it would result in identical R and S forms and produce a racemic mixture. I am currently trying to determine whether pyrrolidine is achiral or chiral. It seems like it has symmetry around the nitrogen atom, but I am unsure of whether that counts?

I'm very confused and any advice would help! Thank you in advance!

For reference, pyrrolidine looks like this!
http://www.chm.bris.ac.uk/webprojects2001/gerrard/gifs/pyrrolidine-s-o.gif

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org

Hello and welcome to the forum! Chirality is a fundamental concept in organic chemistry and it can be a bit confusing at first. Pyrrolidine is indeed a chiral molecule, meaning it exists in two non-superimposable mirror image forms, also known as enantiomers. In order for a molecule to be chiral, it must have a chiral center, which is a carbon atom bonded to four different groups. In the case of pyrrolidine, the nitrogen atom is the chiral center.