Little puzzeled about how to study or where to study from?

• Thread starter A Dhingra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study
In summary, the speaker is a physics student at Delhi University who is feeling unsatisfied with their textbooks and the exam-oriented teaching. They are struggling to find answers to their questions and are unable to concentrate in class. They seek guidance on which books to refer to for specific topics and are recommended to try different perspectives and books such as Feynman, Reif, Fermi, McQuarrie, and Hill's "An Introduction to Statistical Thermodynamics." They also discuss the flaws of the education system and the importance of developing understanding rather than just proving ability.
A Dhingra
little puzzeled about how to study or where to study from??

hi...
i am doing my bachelor's in physics from Delhi University, delhi. I don't really wish to comment about my college or university, but i don't really like being here..

Its been a few days that i shifted my room and now i am able to focus more on studies. And with ample time to think and imagine, i have developed a negative feeling towards my textbooks. i feel as if they don't cover the stuff i want to know and read... i tried searching the net and scanning the college library but couldn't find answer to my questions. The more I think about the queries the more profound they become and to an extent they are starting to haunt me a lot. These days i am not able to concentrate in my classes for the only reason that the stuff they are teaching in class is based on books and merely exam oriented, i started to hate the professor who i liked the most in the being of the course. It seems weird...

The moment i open my thermal book (i am referring heat and thermodynamics by Dittman and Zemansky) doubts crop up and i close it. This was the very book i liked reading in the begining. I don't really know what's wrong.
Can someone please guide me what should i do in this situation?