Mechanical or Electrical: Which Major Should I Choose for Transfer?

In summary: I think Mech probably has concepts that are a little easier to visualize for some people, but on the other hand I have seen people do much better in E&M courses than Mechanics courses.
AdamP
Hi guys i am transferring out of a community college in los angeles to either a UC or a cal-state campus. Prospects are ucla, UCsandiego, Ucirvine, UC santabarbara, calstate northridge, cal state long beach... I have to submit my application in 2 days and I still can not decide on what to do with my major. I have the requirements for both EE and ME, and normally I like ME a bit better than EE, however I feel like EE would be a better path for me. I feel like I would be a bit more technical and more in need if I studied EE instead of ME. Give me some opinions guys, I am stuck big time...

Physics news on Phys.org
Go with ME if you think you'll like it better. Odds are you'll be able to switch it in the first 1-2 years with little issue anyways.

I am a transfer student so all I have is 2 years :)

AdamP said:
I am a transfer student so all I have is 2 years :)

I don't see how that is relevant, given that you claim to like ME more.

fss said:
I don't see how that is relevant, given that you claim to like ME more.

Well it is a little half-hearted to say i like ME more since I have never been exposed to an actual engineering class. I say I like ME more since, I would rather work on a hydrolic arm or an engine than a circuit board.

Is ME a very demanding major? I am a senior in high school and I want to pursue either a ME or an Aerospace engineering major.

Any engineering discipline is a demanding major, although it does vary somewhat, but you're still going to have to work your butt off. Unless you're an Ultra-Genius, in which case you should stop ruining the curve you jerk!