Calculating Heat Capacity & Water Flow to Melt Honey Barrels

In summary, a technician provided a rough guide on how much energy is needed to melt 300kg of honey from 10°C to 50°C. It would take 300 x 10^3 x (50-10) x 0.73 = 8.76 million calories, or 36.8 Mjoules. To get this amount of energy from water cooling from 60°C to 50°C would need 876kg of water.
lukeluke
Hi there,
I am not an engineer but i do have scientific background. It is just a long time since i did any calculations!
I am trying to design myself a new way of melting barrels of honey. I have 200L, 300kg barrels of crystalized honey that I need to melt. One method I envisage is to make an 'element' type coil of pipe with hot water flowing though it that would melt the honey in the barrel from the inside out.
How would I calculate the surface area that the element would need to be to melt a barrel of honey in say 24 hours?
That is from 10C to 50C. with say the water at 60C.
Ah yes the specific heat capacity of honey is 0.73cal/g/C.

Could i also work out how much hot water i needed? and how fast i would need to pump it around the coil?
How do you think this would compare to just sitting the barrels in a big vat of hot water?

Thanks for your help. It is much appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org

As a very rough guide to get you started I would say that the energy required to warm 300kg of honey from 10C to 50C would be 300 x 10^3 x (50-10) x 0.73 = 8.76 million calories
or 36.8 Mjoules. (I am used to using Joules !)(1cal = 4.2J)
To get this amount of energy from water cooling from 60C to 50C would need
36.8x10^6/(10C x 4200) = 876kg
So if you had a flow rate of water of 10kg/min it would take 87.6minutes
These are very rough and ready figures which I hope make sense.
I do not know whether honey has a LATENT HEAT (needed to convert solid to liquid)...
I suspect it does not but... I don't know
good luck

Thanks for that technician. My calculations were only out by 2 decimal places!