What is the impact of Youngs Modulus on copper cable torqueing?

In summary, the conversation discusses a situation in which a 16mm copper cable needs to be torqued to 4Nm in a box terminal to carry high electrical current. After about 5 hours, the terminal can be re-tightened to 4Nm. The issue is believed to be related to Young's Modulus and the characteristics of copper, but it is actually due to work hardening of the copper during torquing. Suggestions are made to potentially solve the issue, such as overtorquing the copper and then reapplying the load, or retorquing periodically until the copper stops yielding. The person is also open to other suggestions.
MandyVol
I hope someone can help. I am an Production Engineer. We have a situation where we have to torque a 16mm copper cable in a box terminal by 4Nm. The cable will be used to carry a high electrical current.

We find that after torqueing (About 5 hours or so) the terminal can be re-tightened back to 4Nm.

I am told this is to do with Youngs Modulus and the characteristics of copper.
I have taken a look at Youngs Modulus but it all seems centred around the stretching of copper and not the compression / "squashing" of copper.

Would anyone know how to work out:
1. What interval we should wait before re-torque,
2. How many times you would need to re-torque,
3. Is re-torque the best option or is there an alternative.
4. Am I even on the right track with regards to Youngs Modulus or are there any other suggestions?

Any assitance would be greatly appreciated.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Hi Mandy,
The modulus of elasticity (Young's modulus) is the same in both tension and compression, but the reason for the relaxing of the torque isn't due to the modulus. If the stress on the copper doesn't exceed yield during operation, it shouldn't require retorquing, but I suspect because the yield strength for copper is so low that it is being deformed when torquing and again to a small degree during operation.