How does high school maths compare to university maths?

In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between high school and university mathematics, with emphasis on the importance of learning proofs and being able to prove things yourself. It is suggested to start by learning basic logic and proofs and to practice by doing exercises. Book recommendations for learning proofs are also given. The conversation also touches on famous proofs and the significance of learning them, as well as the types of proofs typically given in university. Finally, the conversation concludes by emphasizing the need to focus on understanding the methods used in proofs rather than just memorizing famous proofs.
Synchronised
I am in my final year of high school, I am doing the highest level of maths available but I don't find it difficult at all, so I was wondering whether or not I should cover some university level mathematics before doing bachelor of science (Advanced) next year.

For this BSc I am allowed to do two majors (1 major replaces electives) over 3 years, the available majors are physics, chemistry, maths, nanotech, medical science, computer science, biology erc... so I am thinking about doing physics and maths.

The topics I will cover by the end of high school (October 2013) are curve sketching, complex numbers, polynomials, advanced calculus, mechanics, conics, series and induction, inequalities, circle geo, combinations and permutations, binomial theorem, probability, trig, parametric equations and more... so which topics should I study during the 2013 December holidays before uni starts? I am thinking differential equations because we don't study those in HS, what else? By the way the university website doesn't say what topics are covered in first semester for physics and maths so I have no idea what to study?

Physics news on Phys.org