Now the title: How much effect?

• Thread starter Blag007
  • Start date
In summary: The range of sound (compressive wave power) that our hearing can detect is truly amazing, as is the range of photon intensity that our vision can evaluate. It's just too bad that we can't feel, for example, a range of temperatures from 1 K to 10,000 K...That would be truly amazing.
Blag007
Hi all,

I am new to this message board and respectfully ask a question that has been on my mind for years. I have very little knowledge of physics.

My question deals with I suppose, reactions between atoms. If one atom moves, over what distance does it affect other atoms?

For example, if several good microphones were set up in different spots, they would record the sound of someone snapping their fingers. This means that the snapping of the fingers moves atoms in the air in all directions. I can hear sounds of cars on the freeway about half a mile from my home during the night when things are more quiet.

I'm assuming that if you had very sensitive measuring devices, it would be possible measure the movement of atoms of someone snapping fingers a half mile away? Is this correct or does the movement of atoms somehow get absorbed after a certain distance?

I am asking this question because I want to know how much of an effect the movement of one atom has over what kinds of distance.

I appreciate any help,
thank you,
B

Physics news on Phys.org
I think the movements would get damped by random collisions with other particles..The noise from vehicles is loud enough for you to be able to hear it even after half a mile of damping..but the sound of a finger snap wouldn't be measurable all that long.