Using AP Tests to skip classes in college for your major

In summary: It will show that you are dedicated to your education and are not afraid to challenge yourself.3. You'll make more friends and connections that way.4. It will look good on your resume.In summary, if you are majoring in physics and passed the AP Physics C Tests, you should take the college classes to get a better understanding of the material. However, if you feel comfortable with the material, you can skip the class and Audit it instead.
EnSvensk
Passing the AP Physics C Tests usually gives credit at college for a similar class. However, I was wondering, if I'm majoring in Physics and did pass the AP Physics C Tests, should I skip the classes in college and move on? Or would it be better to take the classes at a college anyway in order to master it better and learn the things that my high school teachers left out? Is the AP test/class any real indicator of how well I know the subject(s)?

Any thoughts/input on this subject would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
Before you go off to college, you have an entire summer off. Make sure you know and understand the material very well (Not just rote memorization of plug and chug methods).If you do that then skipping ahead shouldn't hurt you. I'd say do it.

Did you get a 5?

Vanadium 50 said:
Did you get a 5?

I have not received my scores yet, though I am fairly confident I will get a 4 or 5.

A 4 is not a 5. I would be very wary about starting my studies on a 4. Even with a 5 a case can be made to take the class anyway, but with a 4, I think you should take the class.

EnSvensk said: