Where Can Beginners Learn CNC Programming?

• Thread starter appleberry
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Programming
In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of learning how to write CNC programs. The speaker suggests that it may be dangerous to learn this before being familiar with NC programming. They also mention the importance of being familiar with G-Codes and the types of machines used in CNC programming. They suggest taking courses in community colleges or asking for guidance from an employer or teacher when encountering problems.
appleberry
Hi,

Can you guys suggest me any good books or websites where I can learn how to write CNC program, I'm just a beginner so I'm having hard time with my assignment.

Thanks for the help.

Physics news on Phys.org
It is a little dangerous to learn to write CNC programs before you are familiar with NC programming.

Are you familiar with G-Codes (for example, http://www.carbidedepot.com/formulas-gcodes.htm)
which can differ from one machine to the other.

Then you may want to be familiar with the kind of machines you'd be working with, 3-axis milling, lathes, 5-axis, EDM, etc.

In general, there are modules of CAD programs that generate machine codes according to a post-processor customized for the machine you would be using.

If you are not familiar with any of the above, the best way is to look for appropriate courses in community colleges. If you are already employed in the field, your employer will probably be overjoyed to send you to various courses.

As you mentioned, you are working with problems in a course, you would probably be best positioned to search for the answer to the particular problem you have in mind, or your teacher should be able to guide you.

Hello,