Weird issue with professor (undergrad research)

In summary, the student has been accepted for an undergraduate position in a professor's lab and has been offered a scholarship and fellowship. However, the professor is very busy and not responsive to emails, making it difficult for the student to start research and work. Suggestions are given to seek guidance from the graduate students and to be patient with the professor's busy schedule. It is also recommended to establish a good relationship with the graduate students as they may provide more support and guidance. Additionally, it is noted that summer is a good time to work in the lab as there are fewer teaching and administrative responsibilities. Overall, the student is advised to be patient and persistent, and to seek help from others in the lab if needed.
bubbles
So I talk to a professor about an undergraduate position in his lab (I'm in my second year) and he accepted me, got me a scholarship, and even offered me a fellowship for the summer if I am available during the summer. But it seems that he is always busy and did not arrange for me to meet with his graduate students (he asked me to see him). He isn't very responsive to emails and I'm not sure what to do. I haven't even started research/working yet! What should I do?

It seems that he is very busy and he just accepted me to be nice...

Physics news on Phys.org
Go see him in person? I do not think there are that many professors who give students summer positions and scholarships just to be nice. He must of liked you somehow, or needs the help really bad!

Thanks for you reply.

I met him in person before, but it seems that he has been very busy lately and hasn't responded to my emails... We were supposed to meet again, but he postponed or canceled the meetings twice. He's also rarely in his office. He seems like a very busy person. Would it be rude to send him reminders more than a few times?

Last edited: