Book Advice for Physics Grad Student Preparation

• Studying
  • Thread starter iamthegelo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Books
In summary, the conversation is about a Mechanical Engineering student who wants to go to grad school for physics and is seeking opinions on whether the books they have are suitable for self-study. The recommended books include Physics by Alonso & Finn, Math Methods by Boas, Classical Mech. by Taylor, E&M by Griffiths, Stat. Mech & Thermo by Stowe, and QM by Shankar. There is a discussion about the importance of majoring in physics for those interested in pursuing graduate studies in the field. The conversation also touches on the possibility of taking remedial classes during graduate studies and the importance of being well-prepared for grad school.
iamthegelo
Hi,

I am a Mechanical Engineering student about to take my upper division courses. I do, however, want to go to grad school for physics. I would like for people here to see if the books I have are good enough to self study.

-Physics by Alonso & Finn (I am already done with Intro Phys. but I would still like to go through this book).
-Math Methods by Boas
-Classical Mech. by Taylor
-E&M by Griffiths
-Stat. Mech & Thermo by Stowe
-QM by Shankar.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Those are the standard texts for a physics undergrad although if you've never done QM you might want to start with Griffith's (his QM book). However, if you can get through all those books you'll be fine. Although, that does seem an awfully big undertaking.

I agree with maverick_starstrider's recommendation of Griffiths' quantum mechanics book. I would also suggest (if you haven't already) trying to fit in an electrodynamics and quantum mechanics course before you graduate, although I know engineering programs can be rather dense near the end.

If you want to go to grad school in physics, you should major in physics.

Vanadium 50 said:

Well, sure, if you want to do things the *easy* way...

Vanadium 50 said: