Linear Operator T on Vector Space V: Unique Matrix A in Ordered Bases B

• Thread starter Abuattallah
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Linear
In summary, according to the authors, there is a unique Linear operator T on V such that Ta_i=a_{(i+1)} , i=1,...,n. T^n=0, and\ \ \ T^{n-1}≠ 0. Furthermore, S is a linear operator such that S^n=0 but S^{n-1}≠0. Finally, there is an ordered bases B' such that the matrix of S in the bases B' is the matrix A of part (a).
Abuattallah
Hello,
I am a grad student preparing for a quals. I am using H. and Kunze book.
the problem is:
let V be a n-dim vector space over F. and let [itex]B[/itex]={[itex]a_1,a_2,..., a_n[/itex]} be an ordered bases for V.
a- According to them 1, there is a unique Linear operator T on V such that

[itex]Ta_i=a_{(i+1)}[/itex] , i=1,...,n. and [itex]Ta_n=0[/itex].
what is the matrix [itex]A[/itex] of [itex]T[/itex] in the ordered bases B.
b- prove that [itex]T^n=0, and\ \ \ T^{n-1}≠ 0[/itex].
c- Let S be any linear operator on V such that [itex]S^n=0\ \ \ but\ \ \ S^{n-1}≠0[/itex]. Prove that there is an ordered bases [itex]B'[/itex] such that the matrix of [itex]S[/itex] in the bases [itex]B'[/itex] is the matrix [itex]A[/itex] of part (a).

Solution Attempt.
Obviously we have for (a)[itex]A= \begin{bmatrix}
0 & 0&... & 0 &0\\
1 & 0 & 0&...&0 \\
0&1&0&...&0\\
.\\
.\\
0&0&...&1&0
\end{bmatrix}[/itex]
for (b) its obvious.
my problem is with the last question. I tried to justfy it by two ways, the first one is to find an ivertible linear transformation [itex]U:V→V[/itex] such that [itex]S=UTU^{-1}[/itex], then we will be done and such a bases exists. The second way is that I am trying to show the follwing: