How to Make a Spectrum Analyzer: Electrical Engineering Guide

In summary, spectrum analyzers are complex and expensive devices that are used to analyze signals in the frequency domain. They work by using a superheterodyne receiver scheme and various filters and mixers to narrow down the specific frequency range of the signal. The resulting output is then converted into a linear display format, such as LED bars. While there are simpler and cheaper versions available, true spectrum analyzers require a lot of technical knowledge and specialized components to build.
rickmegens
Im totally new to electrical engineering, and i would like to know how to make one (spectrum analyzer)?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Spectrum analyzers have complicated designs and good commercial ones are very expensive. Are you sure you want to take on something this hard?

Regards

Is it really that hard then?

yep, pretty hard

How new are you to EE?

The block diagram isn't too bad. You take a signal and run it into several parallels circuits. Each circuit has steep filters to narrow down the specific frequency range for that circuit. The amplitude of that resulting output on that range is then converted into a linear display format like a row of LEDs.

I own an AudioContol 3050A spectrum analyzer, and when opened its pretty much that, 31 circuits side by side to drive the display.

Nowadays, you can get PC software based analyzers that use FFTs to create an output with a whole lot less work...

If you really wanted to build it, you could start by looking at circuits for a VU meter, then how to add filters to it. Here's a couple commerical units one similar and one that's DSP based:

http://www.audiocontrolindustrial.com/
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshowdetl.cfm?&PartNumber=390-805&DID=7

Cliff

Spectrum Analyzers