How do you convert Heat into stored Energy/Electricity?

In summary, you could heat water and put the water in insulated thermos bottles. Depending on what you want to use the energy for later on, you might want to choose different methods of storing it. Forgive me, but generally what could that generate and for what time period?
nukeman
Hi everyone,

I am no expert in any means, so if what I am asking is silly, just tell me.

This is an example.

Lets say I have a stove top, and I turn it on full for an hour. Without putting anything on it, how can I harness the heat energy and store it, into let's say something like a battery, or anything I can use to power something.

The stove top is giving out some great heat for an hour. I am wondering if there is a way to harsness the heat energy the stove top is giving off, and storing it.

Does this make any sense?

Physics news on Phys.org
Normally you'd need to convert that heat into mechanical motion which can convert that into electrical energy.

Like how a turbine is used to generate electricity. Other than that, I do not think there is any directly way to go from heat -> electricity.

nukeman said:
Hi everyone,

I am no expert in any means, so if what I am asking is silly, just tell me.

This is an example.

Lets say I have a stove top, and I turn it on full for an hour. Without putting anything on it, how can I harness the heat energy and store it, into let's say something like a battery, or anything I can use to power something.

The stove top is giving out some great heat for an hour. I am wondering if there is a way to harsness the heat energy the stove top is giving off, and storing it.

Does this make any sense?
You could heat water and put the water in insulated thermos bottles. Depending on what you want to use the energy for later on, you might want to choose different methods of storing it.

Thanks for the reply!

I see what you are saying, thanks for clearing that up.