Learning to really make use of mathematics?

• Thread starter redwire
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathematics
In summary, the speaker is a first-year university student who is struggling with problem solving despite having a strong background in math. They are seeking resources and techniques to improve their problem-solving skills, particularly in the areas of discrete mathematics. The speaker also suggests that different areas of math may require different problem-solving skills and encourages the listener to practice and become more comfortable with problem solving.
redwire
Hello, everyone.
I have recently been plagued by the knowledge that I have no useful mathematical skills for problem solving. I'm currently in my first year of university and doing quite well with everything.
The problem is, when I try working through some math problems (such as those on project euler and mathschallenge), I am incapable of adequately solving even the simplest (1 star) problems myself. I have a full high school education- in fact, I graduated having done both years of advanced placement mathematics, pre-calc, and physics with honors (90%+ average). I still 'know' the formulae and methods that were 'taught' to me, but I find that, when it actually comes to putting them to use to solve even these recreational problems, I just don't have the capacity.
I would love it if you could share some resources, techniques, ideas, &c. for learning to really put mathematical 'knowledge' into application in the form of problem solving.
Thanks in advanced.

Physics news on Phys.org
Problem solving is a skill that is usually not taught in high school, so you're not alone. I fear that the only solution is to make a lot of problems.