Does Elec Engineering need calc (multi variable, diff equations, etc)

In summary, most electrical engineers need math related to calculus to do their job. If you don't want to study calculus, you may not be able to pursue a career in electrical engineering.
appleb
Hi guys,

I'm a transfer student, and I've wanted to do electrical engineering. My only problem is i love the idea of circuit boards and hardware, but math really isn't my enjoyment, and i just kinda passed the classes without much understandment. Do electrical engineers actually need math like differential equations, multivariable calc, linear algebra or do we just do that to get our minds thinking and the juices flowing in our brains. I really want to work with hardware, and I am wondering where i stand. I know what I've done, and i do regret just bsing through the math courses without learning much, but i did get accepted to a university for elec engineering, and I am wondering does electrical engineering really need this math stuff or are we going to learn what these hardware items do? Like am i ever going to do infinite series, polar coordinates, or something from a differential eqn class or do i get a clean start, and learn electrical engineering from the ground up?

thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you pursue BSEE, it will be very hard for you to skip multi-var, ODE. I don't know you need linear algebra. You are not going to get by electromagnetics, and you short change yourself the chance of getting deep into RF and microwave.