About the origin of the universe? big bang cause?

In summary, the conversation discusses various theories and concepts related to the Big Bang and the origins of the universe. The main questions revolve around the cause of the Big Bang, the possibility of the universe being created from a black hole in another universe, and the accelerating expansion of the universe. The conversation also touches on the notion of time and how it is affected by the Big Bang. While there are different theories and speculations, the exact cause and nature of the Big Bang and the expansion of the universe remain unknown.
jeebs
Hi,
I'm a physics student but I have not done much astronomy/cosmology. I was sitting here thinking, and something struck me. This thought is only a couple of minutes old so it's not much more than half-arsed musings at this stage. However, I am curious about whether someone who knows what they are talking about thinks idea this sounds plausible or nonsense, or whether this is already a known theory I am just ignorant of.

It's about the big bang, and what caused it. Was all the matter/energy of the universe supposed to have been concentrated all at once in one point, just sitting there and then exploding? Or, does it sound reasonable to suspect that maybe all the stuff is actually spewing from the singularity of some black hole in some other universe? Maybe the dawn of our time coincided with the collapse of some neutron star or something in this other universe?

Could this explain the apparent acceleration of the expansion of the universe? What I mean is, if this black hole is growing in this other universe, surely it's sucking in more and more stuff from there and blowing it all out here?
Do we have any other explanations of why the universe seems to be expanding?
Is the big bang even considered as still happening today?