Partial integration of gradient vector to find potential field

In summary, partial integration is used to find potential field. The gradient vector is used to find the scalar function. The constant of integration depends on y.
Gza
"partial integration" of gradient vector to find potential field

I'm studying out of Stewart's for my Calc IV class, and hit a stumbling block in his section on the fundamental theorem for line integrals. He shows a process of finding a potential function [tex]f[/tex] such that [tex]\vec{F} = \nabla f [/tex], where [tex]\vec{F} [/tex] is a vector field defined as

[tex]\vec{F} = (3 + 2xy) \mathbf{\hat{i}} + (x^2 - 3y^2) \mathbf{\hat{j}} [/tex]

He then goes on to equate the components of the gradient vector of the function we want to find with the components of; with the given vector field.

[tex]\frac{\partial f(x,y)}{\partial x} = 3 + 2xy [/tex] (eq. 7)

[tex]\frac{\partial f(x,y)}{\partial y} = x^2 - 3y^2 [/tex] (eq.8)

no problems so far.

but now he integrates equation 7 with respect to x and obtains:

[tex]f(x,y) = 3x + x^2y + g(y) [/tex]

He doesn't really explain where g(y) comes from, or why it is needed. I know a constant of integration is needed, but why must it be a function of y? Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
well what you are trying to find is the scalar function, correct? when you take the gradient of this function, taking the two spatial derivatives separately, you should end up with what you started with, the gradient given. then, looking at the problem given it should be easy to see why the constant of integration may be a function of y. taking the derivative of your final scalar function with respect to y must somehow give you [itex]-3y^2[/itex], which is a function of y only. this information gets "lost" when the derivative is taken only with respect to x and thus must be restored by looking at the derivative with respect to y.

Gza said: