Introduction to Finite Element Analysis

In summary, the book "An Introduction to the Finite Element Method" by J.N Reddy is a heavy read that is out of date. It is best to avoid it, and instead go for a better book on the subject. Eddie recommends "Applied Functional Analysis and Variational Methods in Engineering" by Beer and Watson. This book is more up to date and user friendly, and is a great resource for learning about finite element analysis.
bugatti79
Folks,

I have the book An Introduction to the Finite Element Method by J.N Reddy.
The following website provides

http://highered.mcgraw-hill.com/sites/0072466855/student_view0/executables.html

access to the Fortran Executable but I am not sure how to work them. I am just beginning to learn Fortran.

Any advice will be appreciated
Regards
Eddie

Engineering news on Phys.org
You would be well advised to go for a better book. This one is not a patch on his other book.
Then you might not need Fortran.

Basic was an interpreted form of Fortran (in a way) but Fortran itself is a compiled language that requires pre assembly (processing) to input to the compiler and in a standard way so unless you have good reason to want it (it is not dead) then it is best avoided.

Studiot said:
You would be well advised to go for a better book. This one is not a patch on his other book.
Then you might not need Fortran.

Basic was an interpreted form of Fortran (in a way) but Fortran itself is a compiled language that requires pre assembly (processing) to input to the compiler and in a standard way so unless you have good reason to want it (it is not dead) then it is best avoided.

What is his other book? I have bought this book and currently self studying page by page. Currently at page 122, so I am not sure I want to start another one...?