Thermodynamics - Free Convection and Temperature Gradient Problem

In summary, the problem is to calculate the temperature profile of an enclosure wall with a fire (heat flux) input at the bottom.
HarryWang713
Hello everyone,

So I am an Aero-Thermo Intern at Pratt and Whitney, and my supervisor gave me the following problem to set up a mathematical Excel model for the temperature gradient inside an enclosed box with a heat source underneath it to be used in thermal analysis of an engine component. He detailed the problem exactly as follows:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Problem Statement:
To calculate the temperature profile of an enclosure wall with a fire (heat flux) input at the bottom.

Assume:
• The box is 10” by 8” by 21”, made of cres 345
• The fire is at the bottom of 10” by 8” floor.
• The outside temperature is 59ºF
• The heat flux is 4,500 BTU/min
• The temperature is uniform in the horizontal plane ( 1D problem in Z direction)

Physics:
• The primary form of heat transfer is to the outside environment.
• Use natural convection for a flat plate on the outside.
• The primary driver is buoyancy force for the velocity to calculate the heat transfer coefficient. (Can assume flat plate to start with)
• The heat balance enables to calculate
o We can calculate the wall temperature
o The temperature of the air inside the box

Method:
• Initially cut the box into variable # of horizontal slices
• Calculate the wall area and volumes
• Calculate inside vertical velocity of air due to buyoncy.
• Calculate the internal and external heat transfer coefficients
• Assume an initial internal air temperature.
• Calculate the heat flux.
• Calculate the wall temperature and new air temperature for the next slice
• Continue till the last slice.
• Sum the heat flux and iterate the initial temperature to get the right total heat flux.

Results: