Troubleshooting Wi-Fi Issues: Physics and Geology

In summary, the conversation is about how wi-fi is a radio signal and how it can be weakened by various things. Walls, metal objects, and other interference can all reduce the strength of the wi-fi signal.
runicle
As you know wi-fi is a radio signal and I'm wondering if physics can help me by determining why is my internet acting weird on me. I know about waves and nodes and antinodes and I'm wondering does wi-fi have these properties and how can i position it. In a geological perspective its distance from the router is about 15 meters and elevated by 2 meters (router=downstairs, upstairs=computer). What else can weaken the signal than its distance?

p.s. I'm a techno student and everything about the computer is running good and i need some insight.

Physics news on Phys.org
It won't be terribly useful to think about a Wi-Fi signal in terms of individual modes, as a Wi-Fi signal is spread-spectrum anyway. (The signal is composed of a large number of different frequencies in order to reject noise on any of them.)

Radio signals, like wi-fi signals, will be attenuated by walls, metal objects, and so on. It's best to put the access point as high as possible and eliminate objects in the path between the wireless device and the access point.

- Warren

Noise and electromagnetic interference from other devices can also cause wi-fi problems... not to mention incorrect software settings.

If you have a wireless phone that could also cause problems. I used to always get knocked off my wireless internet until I got a phone with a stronger signal. I'd like to know why it knocked me off though and why this one doesn't.

Mozart said:
If you have a wireless phone that could also cause problems. I used to always get knocked off my wireless internet until I got a phone with a stronger signal. I'd like to know why it knocked me off though and why this one doesn't.