ANSYS application to dentistry

In summary: ANSYS is not specifically designed for measuring stress/strain in amorphous materials, but it should be possible to do so with some modification to the software.
dds2009
Hello everyone,

I am new to this thread and had a couple of questions regarding the use of ANSYS in dentistry.
Just a little bit about myself to put my question in context. I am a graduate student and am completing a research project on bone regeneration using a certain protein. I am basing my study off a previous study that successfully used this protein to regenerate bone defects in a mandible.

What I would like to do is define the biomechanical characteristics of this regenerated bone by simulating the response of the regenerated bone to stress/strain during normal function such as chewing. I currently have micro-ct scans that I am hoping I can import into a mesh software that will allow me to make my model.

I have little experience in using finite element to model this scenario which is why I am asking you all for your input as to how I can move forward in answering my research question. I have done some research on how Finite element works and understand the basics, but I would need help in using the ANSYS software. Do you all feel this is a feasible task for someone with my background. Do any of you recommend any resources or know of any people that may be helpful in the Southern California area? Thanks in advance for your input.

Engineering news on Phys.org
As long as you're able to convert your 3-D scans into a format that ANSYS can import, you should be good to go from a geometry standpoint; ANSYS is very strong in meshing complex geometries. Are you using the full version of ANSYS, or academic/student version? I think the student version is limited in the number of nodes it can do, which may limit your modeling capabilities.