Why isn't magnesia extensively used in refractory ceramics?

• Thread starter Facial
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Materials
In summary, Zirconia has a very high melting point, about 2700C. This is the primary reason why it is used as a refractory. However, after some preliminary searches, I found another common ceramic material with a melting point higher than that of zirconia - magnesia (MgO), with a melting temperature of around 2800C. Why isn't there extensive research being done on magnesia for use in refractory ceramics?First off I am not an expert in materials, but I do know that there is more to refractory materials then just melting point. A key property is the thermal diffusivity, that is how it adsorbs and
Facial
Zirconia has a very high melting point, about 2700C. This is the primary reason why it is used as a refractory.

However, after some preliminary searches, I found another common ceramic material with a melting point higher than that of zirconia - magnesia (MgO), with a melting temperature of around 2800C. Why isn't there extensive research being done on magnesia for use in refractory ceramics?

Engineering news on Phys.org
First off I am not an expert in materials, but I do know that there is more to refractory materials then just melting point. A key property is the thermal diffusivity, that is how it adsorbs and conducts heat. You must also consider things like toxicity if the material is to be handled by living creatures.

Others should be able to add more details.

MgO refractory bricks are used in steel furnaces for one, so at least to some extent magnesia is being used in such applications. What am left thinking is whether MgO can match the inertness of ZrO2 & what other reasons are there ... :confused:

The type of thermal ceramic depends upon the application (temperature and environment) and cost. The higher the temperature or more aggressive the environment, the higher the cost because the material will be special.