How Can a Student Prove Mathematical Maturity When Transferring Schools?

In summary, the school I transferred from does not have high standards, and the school I transferred to wants me to retake half of my calculus classes. I would rather take the last Honors Calculus class rather than redoing the lower level ones. I have studied on my own parts of analysis. The department is not willing to cooperate on placement.
TheOx
I am a transfer student who took a complete calculus sequence at another university. The school I transferred from is not well known for its standards. The school I transferred to wants me to retake half of my calculus classes. I would rather take the last Honors Calculus class rather than redoing the lower level ones. I have studied on my own parts of analysis. The department is not willing to cooperate on placement.

What would you consider proof of this level of maturity?

Physics news on Phys.org
Usually there are 3 basic calculus classes. Calc. 1-3. So I'm not sure what you mean by half & I guess it also depends on what grades you got in those classes or how long ago you took those classes. But if you did fairly well & you recently took the classes I'd try to fight it. Not sure what to say, talk to your adviser, or head of the math department. If that doesn't work keep going up the chain & see if you can work something out.

Why not just start from the beginning of the honors calc seq? They recommend that for people who get credit for the standard calculus classes through AP exams.

Assuming of course honors calc means from a book like Spivak. If it's just a harder course in Stewart, just take the reg calc class since it won't really matter.

Obviously you think you know more than your professors about what classes you should be taking. Presumably this is based on something. Have you explained this something to them?