Having second thoughts about my course

In summary, the individual is having second thoughts about their BSc degree in nanotechnology due to the lack of relevant coursework and the uncertainty of job prospects in the field. They are considering switching to a double degree in mechatronics engineering and physics, which aligns more with their interests and may offer better career opportunities. They are also concerned about missing out on the potential of nanotechnology in its early stages. However, they feel the current nanotechnology course at their university is not preparing them for advanced concepts and technologies in the field and they believe studying mechatronics engineering would give them the necessary skills. They have until August 31 to make a decision.
solipsis
Hey everyone,

As the name of the thread suggests, I'm having second thoughts about my BSc degree. I'm studying a nanotechnology course, and yeah i know that probably sounds cool, but what deters me is the fact that it's my second year, i have 2 nanotech units, and neither of them have anything to do with nanotechnology - one is pretty much chem lab safety (what the hell!??) and the other is microscopy (slightly more applicable i suppose).

I also know that nanotech is still in it's early stages, and it's likely we won't see anything groundbreaking for a while, so I'd rather jump into a field where there are greater job prospects now. The only problem is, i don't know what to do!

I've always been interested in astronomy/astrophysics, as well as the human body, biology, computer science, and recently I've expressed interest in becoming an engineer, particularly a mechatronics engineer (combination of electrical and mechanical engineering for those who are unfamiliar with that term). I'm also a musician. Why do i have to like so many things??!