I'm very interested in astronomy, but worried about job prospects.

In summary, the conversation discusses the student's struggle in choosing a major between business and astronomy/physics. They mention considering teaching or research as career options and ask for advice on which path to take and whether a Ph.D is necessary. The experts recommend studying physics as it provides more job opportunities and suggest transferring to a top university to gain research experience. They also mention that a Ph.D in physics can still lead to a career in astronomy. The student decides to pursue a B.S in Physics and then a Ph.D in the field.
xphillipx
I'm a CC student (barely just started), and I'm planning on transferring to a high quality university with excellent grades.

Problem being, I've been really confused as to what to major in.. I was trying to go the "realist" route before, and get into business even though it's not really what I'm into. But lately, I've rediscovered my love for astronomy/physics. And I would do anything to have a job in a field where I could study that. So I noticed Berkeley has an Astrophysics B.A. program, and I got really excited about it until more recently when I've read of the bad job prospects and employment opportunities in research.

My questions come in when it comes into whether this is a realistic thing for me to try for, and other questions.

Some of my questions include:

1. I realize there's a high chance I would need to teach college/university (and I really enjoy teaching people things so I think I would enjoy this), but is this any better than research as far as there not being a lot of jobs? Is it probable I could get a job in teaching astronomy/physics at university and/or community college? Is this a better career track as far as number of employment positions?