Looking for: Programmable stand alone 120v switch?

• Thread starter sportdman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Switch
In summary, the user is looking for a stand alone 120v 15amp electrical switch that is programmable with a sequence of on/offs for specific time intervals. The switch should also have a start button for initiation and be self-contained without needing external communication. Suggestions include a programmable receptacle timer or a repeat cycle timer, or using a time delay relay with a microprocessor chip like a Picaxe. Alternatively, the user could build their own using a cam/microswitch system.
sportdman
I am a mechatronics engineer and need to find a stand alone 120v 15amp electrical switch that is programmable. I need it to be able to program a sequence of on/offs for specific time intervals for both on and off. The user needs to be able to hit a start button to initiate the programmed on/off sequence.

I am not looking for a switch that is programmable via a RS232 or other means of external communication. I just need a "black box" that is standalone and self contained that will control power to a device.

Does anyone know where I can find something like this?

Thanks in advance for your help.:confused:

Jon

Engineering news on Phys.org
http://www.smarthome.com/2046/Programmable-Receptacle-Timer/p.aspx

Thanks TurtleMeister.

I am looking for something that is not based on time of day. Here is what I need the switch do be able to do:

Start (user activated)
Loop (1 to 20)
Turn power On for 20 seconds​
Turn power Off for 20 seconds​
end loop
End

I intend to use the switch with a vacuum filtration pump. I need the 20 second on/off intervals for the initial priming of the system. The scientists tell me that they need this 20 second cycling or the filtration does not work effectively. After that the user can just turn the power on and let it run.

Thanks,
Jon

Also, do a search for time delay relay. They do exactly what you're looking for.