Functional Analysis, Neuroscience, and Grad School

In summary, the speaker is interested in applying to grad schools for either functional analysis and its involvement in QFT or computational/theoretical neuroscience. They find pure math more enjoyable but are concerned about job prospects in their specific area of interest. They are considering going into computational neuroscience as it has more opportunities and involves some mathematics, and they mention specific programs and researchers that use math in their work. They are seeking advice on other fields that use a lot of mathematics and are in demand, as well as areas of pure math or theoretical physics that are not oversaturated. They also mention the importance of having broad interests when starting grad school.
empleh
I'm going to be applying to grad schools next year (I have an undergrad degree in math and phyisics), and I have narrowed down my areas of interest to two fields: functional analysis and it's involvement in QFT; and computational/theoretical neuroscience. I find pure math more enjoyable, but I'm concerned about job prospects. The specific area of math I'm interested in doesn't seem to be that popular. Unless I'm blind, there appears to be very few mathematicians working in c* algebras and operator theory. There are many in Europe (in both math and physics) but not in America. Is there a reason for this? Is it career suicide to go into this field? I would think with the yang mills mass gap problem still unanswered, the field would be more populated.