Undoing years of bad study habits. Got any tips?

In summary, this problem can be difficult to fix, but it is possible. It may help to take short breaks, listen to music to help focus, and write down notes to keep track of what is being taught.
wubwubwub
I've been a bad student my entire life, and I'm 22 now. My goal right now is to become an electrical engineer. Problem is that I do just enough to pass. My GPA is at about a 3.0 and classes are getting harder. I'm almost done with my lower division and I know my GPA is going to drop more, and I know it's going to be impossible to get a job with a low GPA. Problem is even if I try to study harder, my mind just wanders off somewhere. It doesn't matter if I'm in a library studying, I would just end up looking around. And in class, my mind just wanders off and then I'll get lost mid-lecture. Any tips for me? This seems like this should be something easy to fix. But to me, it's not. I've been trying to fix it for a couple years now. It's getting a bit better now, but not by much.

Physics news on Phys.org
For what it's worth, I have the same issue. It's called laziness. The key is to just sit down and work. When you're bored, stop. Do something else for a few minutes - maybe watch *one* episode of a TV show or better, read a (comic?) book - then get back to work.

The other part is to study systematically. Try make it part of your everyday-life, like brushing your teeth, for instance. The other cool thing is that studying can be fun. When it stops being fun (or engaging?), switch to something else! It's like when you're bored of Nando's and you switch to KFC for one day, then you go back to Nando's. Poor analogy but I really have a problem with KFC as of late. :-)

Also, thank you for making this thread. It allowed me to get my thoughts in order (sort of), share them here and also allowed me to adopt it myself. Okay, now I'm taking a break and then I'm off to study! Good luck! Let me know how this works out. :D