Gauss's law and the Electric field in an object

In summary, the charges inside a metal or other object that are interacting eventually come to rest and do not continue to keep moving around constantly repelling one another due to superposition. This is because the electric field inside the object is zero, and the charges move to the outside surface of the object. This is supported by Gauss' Law, which states that the net charge inside a surface must be zero. Thus, any excess charge on a solid conductor will reside on its surface. This is similar to a planet made entirely of water, where each molecule carries a charge imbalance but the overall charge is balanced due to the symmetry of the molecules. The charges within a Gaussian sphere quickly balance each other, resulting in any excess charge residing on the surface. This
ovoleg
Hey guys, before I post I want to say that I am still learning this concept and just want clarification.

Why do the charges inside a metal or other object that are interacting(repelling for instance) eventually come to rest and not continue to keep moving around constantly repelling one another. To this we assume that the electric field on the inside of the Gaussian object is zero. All of the charge moves to the outside of the objects surface.

But I just don't see how the charges just come to rest. And what is the case when there are ALOT of charges inside the metal that are interacting.

Due to superposition, they should continue to keep moving?

Again, if I sound stupid it's because I am still learning :). Thanks guys!

Physics news on Phys.org
Anyone :)?

Was what I said true at least?

I think you are misinterpreting some concepts. One can say that an object is "at rest" while at the atomic level they are not at rest. In terms of the conducting material, you are most likely thinking about electrical current which may be zero but that does not imply that the charges are at rest (they are not!).