Choosing a Robotic Arm for an Electric Engineering Project

In summary, the individual is an electric engineering student who is looking to initiate a project to control a robotic arm. They are considering using the OWI-535 EDGE robotic arm, but are concerned about the difficulty of implementing a position control with its DC motors. They are seeking advice on a small and inexpensive robotic arm that can be purchased online and shipped to their location in Brazil. They mention potential components for the project, including a C-Control Robot System, an Arduino Mega microcontroller, and various software and motor control components.
ffp
Hi, I'm an electric engineering student and I'm want to initiate a project to control a robotic arm. But i must first choose which arm i will work on and where to buy it.
I want to make a position control, so i will need a feedback of the actual position of the arm. The control will be made with a arduino microcontroler.
I was thinking in the OWI-535 EDGE robotic arm, since it's cheap and small, but i saw on internet that it uses DC motors, and a position control will be very hard to make.
So i think i'll use a servo motor robotic arm.
I want your help to choose a robotic arm that's not very expensive and it's small. Also any advice is welcome.
Since i live in Brazil, i need to buy it on internet in a store or site (ebay) that ships to my country.

Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm sorry that I can't help you with this, Ffp. Any time that I need something, I build it myself, and I use DC exclusively. (I've never had computer control, though, so that probably makes a big difference.) You can use sliding pots for position sensing, or go with strain gauges or nicked fibre optics. Theoretically, it should be cheaper to build your own, but that might not apply in your area based upon availability of parts.

Saw this on youtube:

C-Control Robot System Fahrgestell Robby RP5/RP6
Playtastic Baukasten "Roboter-Arm"