Can't wrap my head around conditional probability

In summary: A→B) ⇒ BSo, the probability space is a kind of logic. The probability of a thing happening, P(A), is equivalent to A being TRUE, or ⊤. The probability of A not happening is the same as saying that A is ⊥, or FALSE. So, when you say P(A ∩ B), you are saying that A and B are both ⊤.In summary, the conversation discusses the difference between P(A\bigcapB) and P(A|B) in the context of a statistics problem. It explains the concept of probability spaces and how conditional probability is related to logic. The conversation also addresses the correct formula for finding the probability of a student who knows statistics well answering a question
berdan
So,I'm studying statistics (for engineers) now,and this is one of them courses that really gives me a headache time after time.
Here for example,I can't seem to get the difference between P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]B),and P(A|B).I'l give an example in for of a question given to us in some class.

"70 percent of students know statistics well.The probability that a student who doesn't know statistics well, answers statistics question in exam is 0.2 .
Probability for a student who knows statistics well and answers statistics question correctly is 0.95.

What is the probability of a random student who does know statistics well ,to answer the question wrong?"

So,when they answered the question,they said that A-event of a student who knows statistics well.
B-event that the student answered correctly.

So,what we looking for is P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]Bc),as far as I've understood.And yes,in the answer to the question it goes :
P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]Bc)=P(Bc|A)*P(A)=0.05*0.7

Why why on Earth why??
And why does P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]Bc)=P(A)-P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]B) does not work here?

Physics news on Phys.org
berdan said:
the difference between P(A[itex]\bigcap[/itex]B),and P(A|B)