Theoretical Physics: Seeking Understanding from Afar

In summary, the speaker is a 2nd year physics undergraduate who is passionate about theoretical physics and seeking a better understanding of physical laws. However, they are limited by the lack of resources and a stimulating scientific atmosphere in their own country. They are concerned about not being able to interact with excellent physicists but are willing to work in any field as long as they can work with brilliant individuals.
Fizik
I am a 2nd year physics undergraduate. I realize that basically there are two types of sciences, one of them to develop technology with scientific knowledge while the other one to seek for fundamental understanding of the physical laws governing the universe.

I am passionate in doing the latter, which is to seek for a better understanding of the physical laws. My method for doing it will be developing theory or refining theory instead of doing experiments to verify or search for manifestation of physical laws. In short, I am passionate in theoretical physics.

I think to do a good theoretical physics one has to closely interact with excellent physicists around the world. However, for some reasons, I am not able to go abroad for physics study (graduate and post-doc) and can only stay in my own country in which stimulating scientific atmosphere is not here. Then, my question is, do you think this will be a big problem to me? Will it be sufficient if I interact with excellent physicists simply by means of conference and emails, instead of face-to-face interaction?

Thx!

Physics news on Phys.org
Fizik said:
I realize that basically there are two types of sciences, one of them to develop technology with scientific knowledge while the other one to seek for fundamental understanding of the physical laws governing the universe.

This is not a good description of how science operates. It might be a fair description of the difference between engineering and physics.