Building My First Logic Gate: A Beginner's Journey

In summary, the conversation is about designing a logic circuit for a TV program where a panel votes on new performers. The SUCCESS light is switched on if the Chairman and at least one of the panellists vote yes, or if all three panellists vote yes. The FAIL light is switched on otherwise. The attempted solution is to use the equation S = C AND (X OR Y OR Z) OR (X AND Y AND Z) to correctly switch each light on based on the panel's voting. The next step is to group the equation properly and then decide whether to input it into a truth table or go straight to using logic gates. It is also noted that an AND statement can have more than two inputs.
JosephF

Homework Statement

I'm studying logic gates and trying to create my first one.

Homework Equations

3. In a TV programme, the panel votes on new performers.
The panel consists of a Chairman (C) and three others (X, Y and Z) who each press a button to register their vote.

The SUCCESS light is switched on if:
Either The Chairman and at least one of the panellists vote yes
Or All three panellists vote yes

Otherwise the FAIL light is switched on.

Design a logic circuit which correctly switches each light on according to the voting of the panel.

The Attempt at a Solution

I've written all the statements our and managed to derive:

S = C AND (X OR Y OR Z) OR (X AND Y AND Z)

Which I think is correct. I'm now not sure where to go from here. I've googled but can't find any think relevant.

Regards,

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
JosephF said:

Homework Statement

I'm studying logic gates and trying to create my first one.

Homework Equations

3. In a TV programme, the panel votes on new performers.
The panel consists of a Chairman (C) and three others (X, Y and Z) who each press a button to register their vote.

The SUCCESS light is switched on if:
Either The Chairman and at least one of the panellists vote yes
Or All three panellists vote yes