Can Randomness be Predictable in Quantum Physics?

• Thread starter Subatomic
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the predictability of quantum physics and the concept of randomness. Some argue that it is impossible to know all variables in a given situation and that random factors play a role in predicting outcomes. The question arises about the true randomness of these factors and whether they can be predicted in a closed environment. It is mentioned that in classical mechanics, everything is deterministic but not necessarily predictable. In quantum mechanics, the uncertainty principle states that the more one knows about a particle's position, the less they know about its speed, making it impossible to predict the future with complete certainty. However, probability distributions can be predicted according to the Schrodinger Equation.
Subatomic
Alright, so I am new to the whole "Quantum Physics" thing, so please don't jump down my throat. I have seen this question asked elsewhere, however a lingering question persists in my mind.

Let's assume that we know all variables involved in a particular situation. Some will assert that:

a) This is just not possible. We can never know all variables in a given situation (it would take too much time!).
b) This is just not possible. There are situations in which random factors affect the situation, making it impossible to predict (at a subatomic level) what will really happen.
c) Even if we know all variables, it is still not possible to predict the random factors associated with it.