Determining the orbital radius of extrasolar planets

In summary: The Attempt at a SolutionWe have a formula relating the period of the orbit to its radius. It is easy to observe the period, so the radius can then be calculated. The longer answer is that the formula has the mass of the star in it and that mass is not easy to observe. I think some guessing is involved but I don't really know. Stars are very interesting and a lot is known about how they work, so perhaps there is a way to guess the mass fairly well from observations of the star's characteristics.We have a formula relating the period of the orbit to its radius. It is easy to observe the period, so the radius can then be calculated. The longer answer is that
aggieg

Homework Statement

Basically I don't understand how you do this - the course I'm doing keeps mentioning the orbital radius of extrasolar planets but doesn't tell you HOW to find it?
Can anyone please help - in plain English, please, I'm not a natural scientist!

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Physics news on Phys.org
We have a formula relating the period of the orbit to its radius. It is easy to observe the period, so the radius can then be calculated. The longer answer is that the formula has the mass of the star in it and that mass is not easy to observe. I think some guessing is involved but I don't really know. Stars are very interesting and a lot is known about how they work, so perhaps there is a way to guess the mass fairly well from observations of the star's characteristics.

Delphi51 said: