Car Brake Performance Using Disc-Brake Variations

In summary, the student is looking to use a simple ABS brake system to analyse braking performance. They want to know if there is a better way to analyse the rate of heat dissipated when force is exerted on the disc from the pad friction material.
heiroglif
Hi all,

Im a Mech Eng student getting my 3rd year project underway,

Using a simple ABS Disc Brake system model, i would like to analyse braking performance for calculations obtained with variations of brake pad size, mateial, and also different disc sizes and materials.

My question is...if i were to use simulink/matlab, which models systems with rates of change,

what factor could i analyse to predict braking performance?

My suggestion is to monitor the rate of heat dissipated when force is exerted on the disc from the pad friction material. Would a higher rate of heat dissipation mean better overall braking? or is there a better way to analyse this part of the brake system?

I have all the model equations for each component ready, but I am stuck with what basis to make my analysis.

Thanks..

Engineering news on Phys.org
The main reason to dissipate heat is that metal (Or worse with ABS) rapidly reach a temperature where they structurally fail.
Citreon and Peugeot disks are reknown for warping under heavy but not unexpected use.
I have always written my own Matlab modules as I it is easier to add in additional factors as you go along.
By building an incremental model you can start with friction, force, velocity and then add in affects of heat on the coefficient of friction, Disk thermal mass and terminal temperature etc as you go along.
Remember that different materials act in different nonlinear ways, e.g. carbon fibre braking systems are poor at low temperatures but actually get better with heat before suddenly dropping off.

hi panda,