Exploring a Career Move in Nuclear or Aerospace?

In summary: NLs and not the larger NLs.It is definitely good to have information about the NLs in order to make an informed decision about where to apply/seek employment. However, it is important to remember that the postdoc experience is incredibly variable and does not necessarily lead to a permanent position at the NL.
Watts
I have a question concerning a career move. I have a chance to switch from the nuclear industry to the aerospace industry. I am just wondering if this is smart or not. Based on the current events taking place in the world and the concern and threat of individuals acquiring and transporting nuclear materials illegally is it smart for me to change my profession. I have about five years experience performing nuclear measurements and NDA. I also hold a B.S. in physics, fully DOE and NRC cleared, and have about seven years experience in the nuclear industry. I cut my teeth on Pu-239 measurement and currently manage a HEU holdup program in a category one fuel manufacturing facility. I suspect with so many different types of detection equipment being developed and the need for experienced and qualified personnel to run them not to mention people that can train others, serve as a nuclear material inspectors, instrumentation developers, detector scientist, etc. It seems like there is going be a large need for anybody with experience measuring and quantifying nuclear materials every where. I suspect that most of the cold war people have retired and gone on and there are only a handful of people in the country that know how to measure, and quantify fissile grade materials. I am thinking I can name my ticket in a few years. Should I stick around or change career paths? Any thoughts?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It looks like you've answered your own question, i.e. stick to the nuclear field.

One might check opportunities at various National Labs, particularly those affiliated with NNSA.